COMING SOON: Response to “This I Used to Believe: Evangelism gone wrong”

One of the things I love about Twitter (and pingbacks, and Google searches) is that you can find out who’s been writing about things you’ve written or things you’ve done.

Jon M. Reid is a writer, a musician, and a Christianity-focused blogger who has been doing a series of posts that deconstructed the segment I did on “This American Life” called “This I Used to Believe.”

The first two segments are linked at the bottom of his third post, which focuses entirely on the radio story, but I encourage all of you to read the entire thing anyway because yes, this is a whole and full story.

I’m also going to be writing about my responses to these pieces, but first I know I have to tell you about my recent vacation to Texas and the three friends I have who are in various stages of grief.

3 Responses to “COMING SOON: Response to “This I Used to Believe: Evangelism gone wrong””

  1. JohnV Says:

    You understand I’m just waiting to hear your reaction to what he wrote.

    A friend of mine converted to a strain of Buddhism and then had what was as much a fall into depression as it was any existential question. I’ll grant you we had a lot of trouble communicating because of our vocabularies and general world view.

    In the end, often, the best you can do is shut up and listen.

  2. Jon Reid Says:

    Heh, I am smiling at your introduction of me as a writer and a musician. Musician, maybe sometimes. By way of introduction:

    I’m a 47-year-old geek living in Silicon Valley, but for some reason like hanging around with the 20’s and 30’s crowd. I normally work as a code monkey but am currently unemployed. My wife and I are both missionary kids from Japan, and we’ve been married for nearly 23 years now. We have three children: two teenagers and one wannabe. :-)

    Anyway, thank you for linking my article, and I look forward to your reaction. Sometime I’d also like to hear another part of the story: How in the world did you get onto This American Life?

  3. Jon Reid Says:

    Oh! Never mind, I’m still catching up on your earlier posts.

Comments are closed.